Skip to main content

Day 6: Nats Take Top 3 Offices; March to the Capitol and Head for Home

The final day of Texas Boys State must begin with a note of congratulations to the top elected officers for 2014. We are proud to announce the election of Arthur Dixon, governor, Elton McIntosh, lieutenant governor, and Christian Green, attorney general. All three are from the Nationalist Party. Dixon, in this capacity as governor will return to Texas Boys State next year to preside over the 2015 session.

Meanwhile, what started as a week of uncertainty on Sunday is finishing up as a lifetime of memories for statesmen. The delegation will conclude the week with a march to the historic Texas State Capitol building after breakfast. Along the way, the winners of the races for Agriculture Commissioner, Comptroller of Public Accounts, Commissioner of the General Land Office, and Supreme Court of Texas will visit their respective offices and given tours by office staff.

Once at the Capitol, the lieutenant governor will preside over a session of the Boys State Senate. Unfortunately, the Senate will be unable to meet in the Texas Senate Chamber due to renovations. However, Texas Boys State staff was able to secure a room in the Capitol allowing the Senate to conduct their session. It might not be the actual Senate Chamber, but the Boys State Senate will still have the memory of a lifetime by being able to say they met in the Texas State Capitol building.

The Texas House Chamber is open for use by Texas Boys State, allowing the 120 members (three from each of the 20 cities) of the Texas Boys State House of Representatives. Statesmen in the House will be able to sit at the same desks used by the 150 members of the Texas House of Representatives and conduct a session of the Boys State House.

Friday’s activities culminate in the final general assembly of the 2014 session of Texas Boys State, held in the House Chamber at the Texas State Capitol. During this final session, statesmen will hear final remarks from Boys State administrative leadership and enjoy the session’s awards ceremony. The final awards will go to two statesmen selected by Texas Boys State administrative leadership to attend Boys Nation in Washington, D.C.

After the awards ceremony concludes, only one thing remains: pronouncing the statesmen graduates of 2014 Texas Boys State. The statesmen will receive a certificate of completion to take with them, signifying they have successfully completed the Texas Boys State program and joining a select group of young men over the past 74 years. Statesmen will then march back to Jester Center and be released to their parents to return home.

And, just like that: 2014 Texas Boys State comes to a close. What began as 920 strangers from across the Lone Star State concluded with 920 statesmen, each having their own unique experience, but each also having the collective experience of going through the session together. Congratulations to the Texas Boys State, class of 2014! We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

Popular posts from this blog

2017 Texas Boys State General Election Results

Statewide Elected Office
     G. Smith  (N)

Lieutenant Governor
     J. Cascino (N)

Attorney General
     J. Delgado (F)

Commissioner of Land Office
     C. McKay (F)

Comptroller of Public Accounts
     S. Saxe (N)

Commissioner of Agriculture
     C. Bradford (F)

Railroad Commissioner
     H. Longcrier  (F)
     K. Preston  (N)
     G. Allen (F)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court
     D. Thompson (F)

Associate Justice, Supreme Court
     R. Madden Jr. (F)
     S. Sinak (N)
     J. Dixon Jr. (N)
     J. Collins (N)
     D. Imhoff (F)
     R. Landsaw (F)
     B. Owen (F)
     N. Gates (F)

Pres. Judge, Ct. of Criminal Appeals
     M. Mayo (N)

Assoc. Justice, Ct. of Criminal Appeals
     Z. Smalt (F)
     V. Torres (F)
     D. Mayes (F)
     D. Forestier (F)
     J. Miller (N)
     E. Gonzalez (F)
     J. Palacios (N)
     D. Childress Jr.  (N)
District LevelBrown DistrictDistrict Judge      C. Post (F)

District Attorney
     J. Overcash (F)

District Clerk
     M. Whaley (F)

Chief Justice, Court of A…

Friday News: 2016 Texas Boys State

By Staff Reports • June 17, 2016

After a eventful day at LBJ, filled with rousing debates, an inspirational visit from former Navy SEAL Clint Bruce, and the much-anticipated gubernatorial election, the Statesmen rose Friday morning for one last day at Boys State. Statesmen were given the opportunity to attend a college fair with both in-state and out-of-state universities in Kinsolving Dormitory, and then met briefly with their cities for reflections and final remarks.

Simultaneously, parents and sponsors met with Boys State staff to discuss the challenges and learnings that the Statesmen experienced throughout the week. An emphasis was placed on the importance of having attended Boys State to the successes of the Statesmen in their futures. 

At the last general assembly in Gregory Gym, recognition awards, scholarships and Boys Nation candidates were announced, and a keynote address from General Land Office Commissioner George P. Bush. Additionally, a few statesmen demonstrated their im…

Wednesday: Texas Secession

This morning Ty Fuselier was interviewed at the State Capital over the heavy issue of Texas Secession. This has always been an exciting topic here at Boys State because so many strive to see Texas as its own nation. Ty began his interview by speaking about the principles of secession and how it is essentially the Republic of Texas being reformed. He supported his statements by speaking about the history of Texas and how we came to be. Key notes from past State Conventions were brought up for overall reasoning on why the Federalist Party would like to see Texas as its own Nation once again. Ty has gained the reputation of being the leader of this whole secession movement. His strong personality and devotion for a change has really brought him to the top and given him a chance to represent his party as a whole through this interview.

Pride and patriotism have always been descriptive dictions when speaking on the topic of Texans or even the date of Texas in general. This was highly emphas…